And the winners are…

O’FALLON- Voters took to the polls on Tuesday, April 2, and elected a slate of almost entirely new faces to the City Council. 

In Ward One, Dennis Muyleart ran unopposed and will join his Ward One counterpart, Ross Rosenberg, on the city council. 

Jessica Lotz – Ward 2

The contested race in Ward Two was won by challenger Jessica Lotz over incumbent Robert Kueker. Lotz defeated Kueker 330 to 203 according to the unofficial numbers from the St. Clair County Clerk’s office late Tuesday evening.

In Ward 3, incumbent Kevin Hagarty ran unopposed and will serve another four year term.

Todd Roach – Ward 4

Todd Roach defeated two challengers to win election in Ward Four. Roach obtained 248 votes to Mary Lynam-Miller’s 165 and Sarah Atterberry’s 26. 

Ward Five saw both seats up for election. One seat, to serve a two-year term, was won by Chris Monroe who ran uncontested. 

The other seat, with a four-year term, was won by Gwendolyn Randolph against Chris Hursey, 71 to 64.

Tom Vorce – Ward 6

In Ward Six, Tom Vorce was the clear winner, defeating Casey Scharven 198 to 56.

Finally, Nathan Parchman won the day in Ward Seven, beating Brian Gibson 254 to 209. 

Nathan Parchman – Ward 7

The other big contested race in O’Fallon centered around the District 203 Board of Education. In that race, five people ran for three open positions. 

Martha Fraier-Stoffel was the top vote getter with 1,685. Incumbent Mark Christ took the second spot with 1,446 and incumbent Donna Johnson won third with 1,395. 

Challenger PK Johnson and incumbent Brandt House missed the top spots, obtaining 1,108 and 985 votes respectively. 

In other election news…

• In Lebanon, new faces will also soon be joining the City Council.

In Ward One, Charles Witty ran uncontested. 

Incumbent Landall Mack won another four-year term defeating challengers Teddy Sells Jr. and Robert Lee. Mack received 46 votes, Sells 35, and Lee 4.

 Local State-Farm agent Jessica Zurliene handily defeated incumbent Bart Bartholomew in Ward 3, 110 to 19 votes.

Finally, in Ward 4, George Fero ran unopposed as a write-in candidate after no one filed during the petition period.

• The race for Lebanon CUSD 9 Board of Education saw four people running for three open positions. 

Nancy Schubert-Henss took the top spot with 415 votes, while Adam Noud won second place with 383, and Gary Haas rounded out the top three with 348. Yasanne Garrett fell short with 233.  

• The Village of Shiloh had three people run for three open spots. Incumbents Greg O’Neil and Kurt Burrelsman, along with newcomer Julia Warchol Black, all won four-year terms on the Village Board. 

• District 90 had three people running for three spots. Incumbents Becky Drury and Rebecca Huller will both each serve another term, while newcomer Quennetta Chambers will join the board replacing Mary Baskett. 

• Central 104 also had three people running for three spots. Andrea Mouser, Laurie Burian, and David Swaney will all serve four year terms following Tuesday’s election. 

• Shiloh District 85 also saw no competition, with three running for three spots. Leslie Tesluk-Ecker, Ted Schaal, and Kelly Waldrup all will be sworn in for a four-year term on the school board. 

• Finally, voters in District 90 were asked whether they supported a plan by the Board of Education to issue $2.26 million in bonds to purchase 81 acres of land on Milburn School Road for the purpose of the construction of a new school in the future. 

Voters decidedly approved this non-binding measure, 1,553 to 933. 

All election results are unofficial until they are certified by the County Clerk.

O’Fallon Township saw an 11 percent voter turnout. Lebanon Township saw a 16 percent voter turnout. Shiloh Valley Township saw only a three percent voter turnout. 

Turnout in the county was 11 percent and was 31 percent in East St. Louis. Those tallies are kept separate due to the two election authorities.