Candidates begin to file petitions for April election

City Hall

City Hall

Candidates for positions to be voted on in April’s election began submitting petitions on Monday. Those interested in running for office in the spring have until 5 p.m. on Monday, December 19, to file their paperwork. Additionally, if someone has field to run and changes their mind, they can withdraw their petitions.

The following have filed to run in the Consolidated Election next April as of our print deadline.

City of O’Fallon

Phil Goodwin and Herb Roach both submitted their petitions to run for Mayor. Goodwin, who currently serves as City Clerk, announced his candidacy recently, while Roach, who is currently an Alderman in Ward 4, made his announcement late last spring.

Former Alderman Jerry Mouser filed to run for City Clerk Monday morning, while incumbent Treasurer David Hursey filed to run for another term in his current position.

A number of races are appearing to take shape in the aldermanic wards in O’Fallon. In Ward 1, James Fowler and Ross Rosenberg filed to run for the seat previously held by Gene McCoskey who announced last week he would not seek another term in office.

Incumbent Ward 2 Alderman Jerry Albrecht is challenged by Mark Riley, while in Ward 3 Vern Malare is the only candidate to have filed. Appointed Ward 3 Alderman Matthew Gilreath is expected to file his petitions this week.

In Ward 4, Mark Morton is the only candidate to have turned in his petitions. Morton is running for the seat being vacated by Roach as he runs for Mayor.

Ward 5 has two seats up for grabs this April. Incumbent Alderwoman Courtney Marsh is running for a standard four-year term and is currently unopposed, while appointed Alderman Chris Hursey and Andrew Lopinot will campaign for the two-year term created when former Alderman Mike Bennett retired.

In Ward 7, three men have thrown their hats in the ring for the seat currently held by Alderman Harlan Gerrish. Jon S. Burgmann, Thomas Mitchell, and Dan Witt have all filed their petitions with the city.

Village of Shiloh 

Incumbent Mayor Jim Vernier had filed his petitions and had no opposition as of our deadline.

Three trustee seats are up for grabs in Shiloh. As of Monday evening, Kenny Bouas, Mark Herrmann, and incumbent Bob Weilmuenster had all filed their petitions.

O’Fallon District 90

Incumbent Board Member John Wagnon has filed, along with appointed board member Matthew Lloyd. Additionally, Quennetta Chambers has filed petitions to run.

Central District 104

Dewonda McComb filed her paperwork at the county to run for the Central School Board.

Shiloh District 85

As of our deadline, no candidates had filed to run for the Shiloh District 85 School Board.

OTHS District 203

Incumbent board members Lynda Cozad, Keith Richter, and Stephen Dirnbeck all have filed to run for another term on the District 203 Board of Education. Appointed board member Brett Schuette also filed petitions, along with retired-educator Laura Jacobi Van Hook.

The O’Fallon Weekly will have a final list of candidates in our next edition after the filing deadline has passed.