Evans congratulates February Reading Counts Award winners

Second Grade, pictured from left. Front row: David Dieu, Inaya Rajani, Jack Philpott, Ella Snedeker, Audrey Shook, Liam Souser, Alyson Mais. Back row:  Nathan Miller, Ben Holt, Levi Anderson, Rylee Stallard, Payton Mahoney, Jaxon Lundy, Chance Crogier, Dylan Bernreuter, Nichelle Davis (Submitted Photo)

O’FALLON – LaVerna Evans Elementary School recently congratulated the February winners of the Reading Counts Award. 

The purpose of the Reading Counts Program is to encourage children to practice reading in and out of the classroom. The program is to be used as a supplement to the teacher’s classroom reading program. 

There are three levels of awards for successful participation in the Reading Counts program. The program combines reading practice with on-line assessments. Once they finish a book they take a corresponding quiz.

Third Grade, pictured from left. Front row: Tyler Boedeker, Madison Stokes, Maria Elmsallati, Alex Tucker. Back row:  Kahlan Mays, Adrian Tucker, Ryleigh Ladowitz, Kalina McPeek, Crislynn Wilson, SemaJ Scurlark (Submitted Photo)

When students Earn 50 points they earn a bronze medal.

When students Earn 100 points they earn a silver medal.

When students Earn 150 points they earn a gold medal.

Fourth Grade, pictured from left. Front row:  Jillian Ellis, Vanessa Mata, Audrey Hamatake, Avery Beiter, Sophia Wondolowski,
Madelyn Rosson. Middle row: Maliya Daniels, Rowen Reilly, Charles Grissom, Kiara Richardson, Sam Holt, John Clores, Journie Tompkins, Zoe Hoffmann. Back row: Kyle Luo, Mekhi Morris, Mia Newgent-Dancy, Carter Jackson, D’Carius Thompson, Evelyn Johnson, Caleb Jackson, Kinkade Brown. (Submitted Photo)

Fifth Grade, pictured from left. Front row: Haley Mehrle, Micheal Pierce, Kortni Clark, Briana Ping, Olivia Mata, Bernie Bossler. Back row: Joi Foster, Jacob Brutto, Charles Berry, Jacob Walker, Abdelnaser Nijmeh, Asher Cantu, Caleb Shovlin, Mohamad Elmsallati. (Submitted Photo)