St. Clair County Democrats sweep countywide offices, pick up county board seats, win judicial races

Andrew Lopinot

BELLEVILLE – The St. Clair County Democrat Party had much to celebrate Tuesday evening, sweeping all of the countywide races and picking up seats on the County Board.

Incumbent County Clerk Tom Holbrook defeated challenger Duane Henson by more than 18,000 votes, 58 percent to 40 percent.

O’Fallon Ward 5 Alderman Andrew Lopinot will take over as the new county treasurer after downing his opponent Philip Kammann by more than 12,000 votes, 54 percent to 42 percent.

In a hotly contest race for county sheriff, former Fairview Heights Police Chief Nick Gailius was defeated by current sheriff, Rick Watson, by nearly 14,000 votes, 56 percent to 42 percent.

Incumbent Board of Review Member Michael Crockett Jr defeated republican Philip Henning by 9,429 votes, 53 percent to 43 percent.

Republicans also lost seats on the St. Clair County Board. 

In District 19, the seat currently held by David Tiedemann was won by democrat Jana Armstrong Moll against challenger Dan Weidenbenner. Moll won by 89 votes, 51 percent to 47 percent. Tiedemann will retire at the end of his current term at the beginning of December.

Richie Meile

In District 23, current O’Fallon Ward 1 Alderman Richie Meile defeated incumbent republican Fred Boch by 276 votes, 52 percent to 45 percent.

Kenneth Sharkey, democrat county board member for District 27, defeated challenger Matt Stirrup by nearly a thousand votes, 63 percent to 34 percent. 

Following Tuesday’s election, the County Board will now be made up of 21 democrats and eight republicans.

With the election of Lopinot, Meile, and Matt Smallheer, who ran unopposed, O’Fallon Mayor Herb Roach will have to appoint replacements for three positions on the City Council. Smallheer is currently a Ward 4 alderman. 

In the races for the 20th Judicial Circuit, democrats Heinz Rudolf, John O’Gara, and Chris Kolker defeated their republican opponents, Katherine Ruocco, Paul Evans, and Laninya Cason.

All election results are unofficial until they are certified by the County Clerk. Absentee ballots had to be postmarked by Tuesday to be counted.